top of page

What Makes a Good Villain?

Villains in a show or a movie are the people who we love to hate. They make or break any piece of media. Heck, sometimes they're more interesting than our main characters. So, in a show that has so many villains (like Miraculous), I have to ask, what makes a good villain? Spoilers for Lady Wi-Fi, Befana, and Volpina. After watching a few episodes and reevaluating my own opinions, I have concluded that there are three things that can create of an entertaining villain.

1. Interesting powers.

One of my favorite villains is Lady Wi-Fi. I love her powers of being able to pause people in place and record for the whole world to see. It's something I haven't seen before, and I love her weakness of the wi-fi being turned off. It's just hilarious to think on what she would do in situation where it would be off.

2. Interesting and/or relatable motive.

I really like the villain Befana. The motivation of a grandma just wanting to spend time with her granddaughter hits close to home with me. So for that, I acutually understand why she would be akumatized, which makes me more invested in her story. And that's key for any type of character.

3. Memorable plan and/or high entertainment value.

I put this in the same category because not everyone is lucky enough have both. I mean, I love Volpina's plan of disguising herself as the fox miraculous, yet Anansi didn't really have a good plan. But I like both episodes. So, if a villain can entertain me enough to let me forget about the miraculous--letting me focus on their revenge on Chloe--that's fine by me.

Just Saying, -Jane.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pals before Gals

Have you ever had those moments that someone asked you if you liked your best friend's crush? If you haven't, you're lucky. If you have, you probably answered something along the lines of "No, that pe

Hawk Moth: The Incompetent Moron

Don't get mad, you'll become easy prey for the akuma. For those who don't know, Hawk Moth is the main villain of the series. He uses evil butterflies to emotinally manipulate angry and/or sad people f

Tikki VS Plagg

As much fun as Ladybug and Chat Noir are, we can't forget about their faithful kwamis. For those who don't know, kwamis are basically the things that power the miraculous. This means that the yin and

bottom of page